Just Go With It

Rating: * * /5

I was slightly anxious about finally committing my first post to this blog, but I just decided to take inspiration from the new Jennifer Aniston and Adam Sandler movie title and…

I’m surprised, and partially relieved because it looks quite awful, that I haven’t seen a trailer for this movie yet so I truly have no idea what it will be about. I’m taking a guess that it may involve Adam Sandler trying to wrangle Jennifer Aniston into a threesome, or maybe Jennifer has pretended to be a lesbian to play hard to get and is now regretting it. Perhaps they are just good friends and she’s acting as his wingman but that doesn’t explain the look of apprehension on her face. I’m not being facetious, I genuinely thought that must be what the movie is about when I first saw the poster. They’re everywhere in New York, every subway stop sign/station/cart, every street corner.  This particular poster came with an added mustache which I think emphasises Jennifer’s expression of both concern and lustful longing even more.

Like a lot of movies posters, it’s basically selling you the promise of moderately exposed female body parts. But using a standard pastel, chick-flick colour palette with the hot chick(s) motif thrown into to attract a male glance (or two). The typography is pretty terrible, particular that bouncy ‘o’ which I believe is trying to be reminiscent of a bouncing bum or boob. The drop shadow isn’t the worst or most pronounced I’ve seen, but I generally abhor drop-shadows so I still don’t like it. The movie, like its poster, is trying to somehow appeal to both men and women and doesn’t succeed at doing either. I don’t think it will be the worst movie of the year, but I suspect it will be very forgettable so I’m going to avoid it.

Please correct me if I’m wrong! Has anyone seen the movie, or even the trailer? Was I far off the plot with my threesome predictions or was I right on the money?

0 Responses to “Just Go With It”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

