book art object review

This recent acquisition to the SVA library collection has been catching my eye everywhere recently including at the Whitney Museum book shop and the Strand. As a lover of art books and book design in general, I found it hard not to look inside. But I promise that I didn’t.

I have no doubt in my mind that this is a book made by designers for designers. From the title, I’m guessing it’ll purely be a picture book of art books – beautiful embossed covers, unusual folds and bindings. I suspect it will be fascinating for anyone who loves book design, and completely uninteresting for anyone who does not. There’s an sense of knowingness from the title and cover, verging on pretentious. The designer has used a purely typographic cover but the ligature of the ct adds a nice visual element.

Unfortunately, the matte cover seems to wear easily..

0 Responses to “book art object review”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

